Experiencing Education

Ever since I was little I loved learning. I once cried because I didn’t know how to read; the following summer my mom spent everyday teaching me. I loved, loved, loved reading and I still do. I remember being in first grade (or around there) and asking my teacher to give me homework. She laughed and was astonished at my earnest desire for knowledge. The point of this anecdote is that once I got the homework, I remember trying to do it, and it was quite hard. Some things in life aren’t teachable. You can’t be taught how to breathe, think, laugh, smile, ect. You can’t be taught how to experience life; you can’t be taught to find one’s soul. I am currently reading Siddhartha by Herman Hesse and the main character realizes this. He has been going around trying to find a teacher to teach him the meaning of Self and life, and he ends up finding out that some things cannot be taught. He had been running away from Self, and once he embraced himself, then he learned so much more through experience. So I say, yes, learning and school and knowledge are wonderful things. That does not mean, however, that the three always have to be combined. One can acquire knowledge many a places–not just in school.

Leave a Reply

