Caught.

I never thought it’d be me. I never believed I’d be the one who stared at you when you weren’t looking, glancing away fast when you caught me. Laughing hard when you say stupid things, sighing deeply, smiling broadly when you say sweet things. I never believed it’d be true for me. I thought that’d be someone else. But I am the girl who kissed you in your truck last night, and I’m the girl who hangs out with you everyday. I didn’t want to be committed, and I said let’s go slow, yet now here I am kissing you and only you, dating you and only you. I guess I’ve finally been caught. But instead of beating my wings against the cage, I smile at you everytime you come to my cage, and when you offer to let me go, I cling hard to the bars and cry for the door to be closed. I’m baffled by my sudden commitment to you, but I am here, and I promise I’ll stay, no matter the cost. I’m not really sure how to feel about it, must be something in the way you move; it makes me feel like I can’t live without you. It takes me all the way… Promise me, promise me you’ll stay.

Leave a Reply

