What does it mean to be a friend?

Friend (noun): a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard.

“A friend is someone you love and who loves you, someone you respect and who respects you, someone whom you trust and who trusts you. A friend is honest and makes you want to be honest, too. A friend is loyal.” -Urban Dictionary

[Based on horoscope signs] Aries: Will motivate you and bring out the best in you.

“Two things you will never have to chase: true friends and true love” -Mandy Hale

I am going through a season of healing and in that healing, loneliness. I feel a bit isolated. I have lost friends who have decided that they no longer trust me. I have a deep desire for friendship. Perhaps though, just perhaps, I am learning what it means to truly be a friend. I desire someone to invite me out to coffee, rock climbing, or tennis. I think these things would be a blast to do with friends who find them fun as well. I desire a friend who calls to check on me just because they care. I desire a friend who asks me how I am doing with Jesus right now. I desire a friend who is understanding yet fun, compassionate yet silly. I am still searching for this type of friend. There are areas I need to work on in order to be that type of friend though. While I await for that type of friend, I will be the listener, the inviter, the interested, the loving, the non-judgemental friend that I wish others to be for me.

If you have any advice on how to be a goo friend, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

